FARMS BY REGION
Browse the condensed FHiNZ farm database by clicking the region names below.
For access to the complete database including contact details for each farm please purchase a FHiNZ booklet.
 Northland
 Auckland
 Coromandel
 Waikato
 Bay of Plenty
 East Coast
 National Park
 Taranaki
 Wanganui
 Hawkes Bay
 Wairarapa
 Manawatu
 Wellington
 Nelson/Marlborough
 Canterbury/Christchurch
 West Coast
 Otago/Southern South Is
 

Farm Helpers In New Zealand 

FARM HELPERS IN NEW ZEALAND    
New Zealand Sheep
SELECTED REGION: Waikato, North Island
Hamilton, Cambridge, Raglan, Tirau, Huntly
 
Hamilton J H
Activities: Homestay & small farm: horses, cattle, lots of farm animals & pets. Help with horse & pet care, gardening, some light house maintenance and maybe some farm work if you are able.
Comments: Well equipped facilities with, 4 bedrooms available. We are central/ close to Hamilton, Cambridge and Te Awamutu in lovely surroundings- gardens, swimming pool, spa, tennis court etc.
 
Hamilton P&R M
Activities: 3 Appaloosa mares (no horses for riding) and some cattle. Normal farm duties depending on seasons: feeding out hay and the garden to do. We also do farm stays for paying guests but normally room for FHiNZ members.
Comments: Our large house is west side of Hamilton, 8km from the Dinsdale shopping centre out past the Mormon Temple, and approx 12 km from the centre of Hamilton City.
Hobbies: Piano accordion.
 
Hamilton L&D P
Activities: Riding school also Training & Educating of horses, including racehorses, show jumpers, farrier & horse dentistry. Gardening, general farm work, stock work, maintenance, weed control, firewood, horses; stable hand, feeding, mucking out. We are always on th
Comments: Half way between Cambridge and Hamilton. We are a family of 4, all working in different aspects of the horse industry. There are approx 40 horses on the property, as well as cows, pigs, dogs and cats. Accommodation usually your ‘own’ fully self-contained home with basic food. However main meals are usually prepared and had together. Can pick visitors up from Hamilton bus station, or agreed place.
 
Hamilton S C
Activities: Not a farm, very small garden, general house and grounds maintenance.
Comments: Just me at home on the hill, lovely views, bus very close. Own room. Hamilton 10 min bus trip away. Nau mai, haere mai.
Hobbies: Walk, bike, beach.
 
Hamilton D&M S
Activities: Fruit & vegetable market garden with retail shop. Help all areas: harvesting, planting, selling etc. No prior experience required.
Comments: Couple and daughter. Stay in own rooms at the home. The farm is not isolated, near school, shop, mechanics & park. Hamilton 10 min on route to Raglan. We often travel to the city, may be able to arrange a loan vehicle.
Hobbies: Watch & attend sports games, and socialise.
 
Hamilton F&E B
Activities: Dairy farm: 225 cows. Milking, weed control, fencing, calf rearing, general farm work, housework, bit of gardening.
Comments: One teenager at home. Visitors have own room, shared bathroom. Easy to find on outskirts of Hamilton, close to shops. Auckland 1 hr. Pickup Hamilton.
Hobbies: Meeting people, car racing, tennis & golf.
 
Hamilton M&B M
Activities: Thoroughbred stud farm (own stallion), breeding appaloosa horses. Duties: helping with mares, foals, yearlings, stable hand, general help on farm, also help around the house.
Comments: No children living at home, sometimes overseas students staying usually short term. Very large house, 11 km from Hamilton. Own room, bathroon & toilet. Riding horses available.
Hobbies: Horse treking, going to horse races, breeding horses.
 
Hamilton K&R A
Activities: Help feeding horses & other animals. Good rider required to compete also in endurance and low level eventing/dressage/sj. Young horse handling skills a bonus.
Comments: Stay in self contained cottage. Hamilton 8 min.
Hobbies: Dance.
 
Hamilton I&E W
Activities: Mixed cropping farm - mainly maize and sheep with a small native plant nursery. Activities include working with stock, growing & planting trees, gully restoration, making tracks and board walks.
Comments: Married couple and sometimes a home stay visitor. Sometimes one adult son living at home. A dog and 2 cats. Own room for visitors. Very close to both town centre and airport. No bus service to town but we can provide a bike to nearest bus stop.
Hobbies: Hiking, gardening, fishing.
 
Matamata S D
Activities: Commercial Thoroughbred breeding operation. Help out for a couple of hours per day mucking out boxes & helping to keep things tidy.
Comments: Basic accommodation located in the staff accommodation area which has power, hot water, cooking facilities, bedding etc. Close to many bush walks, lakes, rivers and minutes away from Hobbiton the movie set for Lord of the Rings. Central to other tourist areas: Taupo and the Coromandel.
Hobbies: Horse racing & rugby.
 
Morrinsville R H
Activities: Beef & dairy support, couple of sheep, pet dog Doddle. Help with general stock work, farm maintenance, house work &weed control.
Comments: I live on my own in large, lovely home. Great view, relaxed company. Stay in twin bed or double room with own bathroom. Meals meat based, cooking help welcome. Free WiFi access available. Swimming hole on property if brave enough. Hobbiton 35 min, Hamilton 30 min & Auckland 2hr. Pick up from Hamilton or Morrinsville.
Hobbies: Pest control, tennis, golf, socializing, clay bird shooting, supporter of cricket & rugby.
 
Piopio W T
Activities: Typical Sheep Cattle farm. House cleaning & help, painting, weed control, pruning, firewood, moving & droving + stock work, building, fencing repairs, handy with hammer & saw? No skills needed, a good heart, mostly working alongside me out on the farm.
Comments: Bachelor farmer, old style home, quiet valley, 2 cats 2 dogs (are you allergic to them?). Pickup from bus at Piopio 5 km. Te Kuiti 30 km. Respect for each other's privacy, sociable, easy going, enjoy conversation, laugh. Bicycle & helmet, cable internet, old computer, e-mail. Occasional trip to shops, sheep & cattle sales in towns.
 
Taupiri M C
Activities: Candy factory &tourist attraction seeking to go off grid with solar and wind generators. We grow our own organic veges and eggs for the cafe and homestay. You will be gardening, painting, packing lollies in the factory & making candy!
Comments: I live with a full time boarder, Roland in a country house. 3 rooms available and we are renovating a big 10 bed house we will use as a hostel also. Vegetarians welcome. Hamilton city 10 min drive, We can pick up from Taupiri bus station.
 
Te Aroha M&P D
Activities: Grazing for young cattle for our farm in Tokoroa. Help with day to day farming, fencing, firewood and painting.
Comments: We are in our 60s, family have left home and we always enjoy having overseas visitors. Visitors stay in family home. Farm in the hills, tramping at doorstep. Near hot spa pools. Easy access to buses to Rotorua. Matamata & Hobbiton 30 min.
Hobbies: Bush walks and fishing.
 
Te Awamutu P&M G
Activities: 240 cow dairy farm. Help includes milking cows, farm maintenance, gardening, painting and household chores.
Comments: Couple with 2 school aged children, non smokers. Stay in a cottage with a kitchen and bathroom. However you can have meals with the family. 10 km from Pironga Mountain that provides some beautiful walks and 30 km from the famous Waitomo caves. We can pick you up from the bus in Te Awamutu if required.
 
Te Awamutu J&A S
Activities: Intensive sheep (2000), beef (400) & dairy (850). We milk in a 50 bale rotary & fatten all stock on the farm. 4-8 hr work/day.
Comments: 1 son working on the farm. Judy has a com-puter business. Stay with us in our 7 bedroom house. Puta-ruru 30 min, Te Awamutu 45 min, Taupo & Rotorua 50 min. Can usually pick up from one of these towns. Abseil-ing and rock climbing nearby.
Hobbies: Waterskiing, trout fishing & snowboarding.
 
Purchase a FHiNZ booklet for access to the complete database including contact details for each farm.
 
Top of Page top of page
 
WELCOME
ABOUT FHiNZ
FARM LOCATIONS
FHiNZ RULES
INFORMATION
FAQs
BECOME A MEMBER
BECOME A HOST
LATEST NEWS
DISCUSSION FORUM
 
   FHiNZ HEADQUARTERS
 
   41 South St
   Palmerston North 4410
   New Zealand
   info@fhinz.co.nz
 
  ©2004 FHiNZ . designed and hosted by Kudos web design