FARMS BY REGION
Browse the condensed FHiNZ farm database by clicking the region names below.
For access to the complete database including contact details for each farm please purchase a FHiNZ booklet.
 Northland
 Auckland
 Coromandel
 Waikato
 Bay of Plenty
 East Coast
 National Park
 Taranaki
 Wanganui
 Hawkes Bay
 Wairarapa
 Manawatu
 Wellington
 Nelson/Marlborough
 Canterbury/Christchurch
 West Coast
 Otago/Southern South Is
 

Farm Helpers In New Zealand 

FARM HELPERS IN NEW ZEALAND    
New Zealand Sheep
SELECTED REGION: Otago/Southern South Is, South Island
Queenstown, Dunedin, Invercargill, Wanaka
 
Alexandra A&P J
Activities: Vineyard. Training vines, erecting nets, picking and general gardening.
Comments: Alexandra nearest town 2 kms away. Queenstown nearest airport (1 hr). Small studio sleeps 2.
Hobbies: Bridge viticulture, music.
 
Dunedin K&N H
Activities: Small Native Plant nursery. Help with, reforesting a block of land in Natives and planting seedlings.
Comments: Couple with 3 children. Property on Signal Hill overlooks Dunedin and near mountain biking tracks and walking tracks that link to the hills around the city. Stay in a heated caravan parked in a private site away from the house. Nearest bus stop 25 min walk down the hill.
Hobbies: Tramping and the outdoors. Native plants.
 
Dunedin M&V S
Activities: Hobby farm. 2 horses, peacocks & some sheep. Gardening, digging, planting, weed spray, help upkeep farm buildings.
Comments: 2 boys (teen & preteen) & pets. City centre 10 km. Can make arrange to drop & pick from town. Expect at least 20hrs of work/week per person. Plenty to do nearby by.
Hobbies: Gardening, feeding birds, bush walks, cricket & badminton.
 
Edendale N&C A
Activities: Dairy farm milking 250 cows. Jobs include milking, spraying, fencing, gardening, cooking, a bit of cleaning.
Comments: Couple with 2 two teenage daughters. Can pick up from Invercargill (30 min) or Gore (25 min). Catlins & Riverton 45 mins. Visitors have own room, shared bathroom.
Hobbies: Walking, cycling, hunting, cooking.
 
Fortrose C&C M
Activities: Dairy farm, with sharemilkers who manage the daily milking. Welcome help on workshop projects, building maintenance, gardening etc. You should have experience in one of these: building, child care, gardening, tractor-driving, general farming or engineeri
Comments: Founder FHINZ members when our children were young, now they have children of their own, on the farm. Many of those young travellers are still our friends, now with their own children.
Hobbies: The beach at the bottom of the farm, travel, international affairs, our dairy farm, visitors, IT technology, family.
 
Garston S M
Activities: Sheep and beef. Help with general farm duties eg. feeding stock, fencing and spraying. We try vary helpers tasks. Includes gardening, cooking and general housework. Walking and biking tracks on our farm and nearby. Two good rivers within walking distan
Comments: I manage the farm with my parents. We have a farm homestay for paying guests. Helpers will have their own quarters with a shower and toilet, but most of the time will eat meals with the family. Can pick up from Garston or Athol 10 km.
Hobbies: Fishing and hunting.
 
Gore C&J L
Activities: Self contained dairy farm. General work on that.
Comments: On main road halfway between Gore and Clinton.
 
Gore F B
Activities: 1800 sheep & 30 beef cattle of different breeds; growing supplemental feed & many varieties of trees. Feed sheep/ cattle, draft sheep and other stock work, prune trees, paint gates and plant trees.
Comments: I live alone. Accommodation in separate area in the house – own bathroom & toilet.
Hobbies: sheepdog trialling & show poultry.
 
Gore H&A T
Activities: Large sheep beef & dairy farm with a small farm stay, possibly horses soon. Help with house work, gardening, maybe some farm work.
Comments: 4 primary & secondary aged children. Mum works part-time & needs some help. Involved in a local Bapist church. Nearest town 15 min with good sport facilities, cafes, shopping. Catlin coast 1.5hr, Queenstown & Dunedin 2hr. Stewart island accessible via Invercargill 1hr.
 
Herbert B&S M
Activities: Lifestyle block. Help with gorse clearing; cutting firewood; weeding; planting & fencing.
Comments: Family home in 1860's old limestone manse. Anglo-kiwi non-smoking household. Relaxed & respectful family with small friendly dog. 2 double bedrooms (one with ensuite) & own sitting room available. Near forests & river mouth. Stunning surf beaches 6km. Historic Oamaru 20km. Daily transport to Dunedin (1 hr).
Hobbies: Cooking, walking, motorbikes & engineering, music, historical society.
 
Heriot J,D&I R
Activities: Dairy farm: 50 bale rotary shed. Milking and work on farm or help with parents gardening.
Comments: Stay in farm house with Joseph. Parents (Deborah & Ivan) live in another house on the farm.
Hobbies: Hunting, fishing, golf, cricket, swimming, reading & travelling.
 
Invercargill H&L D
Activities: Dairy farm, my staff & I milk & do main farm jobs. You help with: weed spraying, cleaning tractors, lawn mowing, cutting wood with chainsaw, light tractor work if willing to learn, water blasting farm buildings, young stock work, child-sitting, learn more
Comments: 3 home schooled boys – pre teen to teenage. You have your own room with shower and toilet next door. Can pick-up from Invercargill 20 min.
Hobbies: Family activities: mountain biking, church, swimming, BBQ, sight seeing.
 
Kurow M&T R
Activities: Dairy farm milking approx. 720 cows. Jobs to suit skills. May include milking, driving tractors, dealing with stock, gardening, general farm maintenance & fire wood. A couple would be ideal.
Comments: Couple in our 30's with one child, another due in March 2012. Accommodation options include 1 bedroom in our house, shared accommodation with other staff (own bedroom) or a large tent on the lawn. Timaru is 1 hr, Oamaru 45 min, Waimate 35min & Kurow 15 min.
 
Mosgiel A&K S
Activities: Dairy farm 600 cows operated by a sharemilker plus B&B guests stay occasionally. Activities include milking, feeding animals, firewood, section maintenance, cooking, housework, animal care and weed control.
Comments: Modern large family home. Pickup from Mosgiel, 5km. Dunedin 20 min. Close to golf course, bush walks and rivers.
Hobbies: Tramping, travel, crafts, music, rugby, meeting people, cooking & our pets.
 
Oamaru G&A K
Activities: Radiata plantation and landscaped garden. Mostly gardening. Also clearing bush, pruning, thinning & sawmilling.
Comments: No children at home. Native bush, river with swimming holes on one boundary. Visitors have own bedroom and bathroom. Near Moeraki Boulders, Blue and Yellow eyed Penguins, historic Oamaru precinct, limestone formations and bush walking. Pick up from nearest town: Oamaru 20 min.
Hobbies: Music, gardening, overseas travel & sailing.
 
Otago Peninsula JJ
Activities: Not a farm but isolated rural property. Help with garden and DIY (cottage/property maintenance).
Comments: Old cottage on the beach. You would have your own room. Mostly vegetarian food, gluten free available. Near albatross colony.
Hobbies: Walking, tramping, meditation, reading, biking, movies, painting, spending time with animals and environmental management.
 
Otautau C&G K
Activities: Sheep farm, 2200 sheep. Sheep work (lambing, shearing, drafting and crutching), domestics, general duties, vegetable garden, tractor work, fencing, general tidying and trees.
Comments: 3 young children. Own room with double bed. Closest town is Nightcaps (a mining town). 25 min to Winton/Mossburn. 50 min to Invercargill. 20 min to Otautau.
 
Otekaieke JD & TB
Activities: High country farm, approx. 13,000 stock units, merino sheep, beef cattle & deer. General help with day to day farm work: mustering stock, gardening, tractor work, fencing, cooking & housework, caring for animals, farm building renovating, firewood.
Comments: Accommodation in old shearer's quarters with own shower & toilet. Non smokers. Preferred if helpers have their own vehicle as reasonably isolated. Drivers license required. Please phone first. Oamaru 40 min.
Hobbies: Hunting,fishing, horse riding, snow sports & surfing.
 
Owaka G&C M
Activities: Beef & Sheep farm with stud cattle. Stock work, farm maintenance, some gardening, along with enjoying our children.
Comments: Christian family, we’d appreciate that you respect our Christian values, eg sleeping arrangements. 7 children primary – secondary school aged. Stay in sleepout with double bed & shared facilities; restful view from home. Pick up from bus in Balclutha 20 min, Owaka 10 min. Bottom Bus passes daily (Summer) /weekly (winter). Beaches, bushwalks and wildlife close by. Drivers licence useful but not essential.
Hobbies: Church activities, family time, meeting people, reading.
 
Ranfurly A&R G
Activities: Sheep & beef farm plus large organic vege garden for our own use. Help with odd jobs around the place. No experience ok.
Comments: 2 young children at home. Own room, queen bed and WiFi. I can pick you up from nearest town, Ranfurly (pop. 1000); Queenstown 2 hr, Dunedin 1.5 hr, Alexandra 1hr.
Hobbies: Gardening, music, healthy living, winter sports, travelling.
 
Roxburgh S&B P
Activities: Wool Carding, extensive orchard, miniature horse stud (breeding, care, showing), sheep work. Assorted animals.
Comments: Couple with 4 bedroom house, lovely walks and views. Horse riding, spinning, knitting, walking (wild deer), nearby is gold panning and gold era history. Beach 1˝ hr, snow fields 2 hr, s from the. rail trail 40 min. Pick up from Roxburgh (closest town). Cold & snow in winter, hot in summer.
Hobbies: Vintage tractors, miniature horses, pottering in garden, weaving, cooking & company.
 
Roxburgh J H & A S
Activities: Extensive flower, vegetable and fruit garden + greenhouses. Engineering workshop. Assistance sought with general garden and property maintenance.
Comments: Visitors stay in own self contained one bedroomed cottage. Swimming pool, bicycles & BBQ1 ˝ - 2 hr drive from Queenstown, Wanaka, Dunedin and Invercargill. 7 day shop 10-15minutes walk.
Hobbies: Gardening, cooking, reading and Jaguar car restoration.
 
Te Houka A R & R F
Activities: Very busy diverse farm - sheep, beef, outdoor piggery, cropping, forestry. General duties depend on experience. Under NZ Health and Safety Regulation we are very mindful or requirement to ensure a safe environment. MUST BE FLUENT IN CLEARLY SPOKEN ENGLISH
Comments: Gay owned and guests MUST BE GAY FRIENDLY. Can collect from Balclutha (5 min) or Milton. Dunedin 1 hour. We offer our guest a welcoming stay... Comfortable modern accommodation, great country meals and country hospitality. We expect guests to interact and be inclusive.
 
Tokanui J B
Activities: Sheep & beef. Family farm, help with daily farm tasks: stock, maintenance etc. Horses available for experienced riders. Keen gardeners.
Comments: Accommodation is own room in upstairs area of the family home. Regular bus to Tokanui.
Hobbies: Gardening, biking & running.
 
Waimatuku M&M S
Activities: Sheep farm. Varied tasks include stock/yard work, lambing, shearing, fencing, tree planting, painting and gardening.
Comments: Our 5 children enjoy helping on the farm. We eat a wide range of foods & enjoy hearty homemade meals. Stay in new warm “tourist cabin” with toilet & shower. Can collect from Invercargill.
Hobbies: Family games & sports, watching rugby & netball, vegetables garden.
 
Wyndham M&H K
Activities: Dairy farm (35 cows), modern 36 bale cowshed. Milking cows, gardening, knapsack weed spraying, motorbike work & tractor work if experience. Work to suit skills. Developing new hill farm (est. 2008). Prefer independent internationals over 30 years with dri
Comments: 2 children, boarding school during week. New large, well heated room (double & single bed, add for children), private ensuite bathroom (toilet/shower/large spa bath). No cellphone coverage but limited internet. Near Catlins forest. Tokanui 10min, Invercargill 45min, Dunedin 2˝hr. Curio bay & petrified forest 40 min, Ashers lignite mine 20min.
Hobbies: Children first, farming, cooking, gardening & flying (private pilot).
 
Purchase a FHiNZ booklet for access to the complete database including contact details for each farm.
 
Top of Page top of page
 
WELCOME
ABOUT FHiNZ
FARM LOCATIONS
FHiNZ RULES
INFORMATION
FAQs
BECOME A MEMBER
BECOME A HOST
LATEST NEWS
DISCUSSION FORUM
 
   FHiNZ HEADQUARTERS
 
   41 South St
   Palmerston North 4410
   New Zealand
   info@fhinz.co.nz
 
  ©2004 FHiNZ . designed and hosted by Kudos web design