Browse the condensed FHiNZ farm database by clicking the region names below.
For access to the complete database including contact details for each farm please purchase a FHiNZ booklet.
 Bay of Plenty
 East Coast
 National Park
 Hawkes Bay
 West Coast
 Otago/Southern South Is

Farm Helpers In New Zealand 

New Zealand Sheep
SELECTED REGION: Nelson/Marlborough, South Island
Nelson, Motueka, Takaka, Blenheim, Kaikoura
Awatere Valley M&J H
Activities: Working vineyard - help with vineyard work, gardening, lawn mowing, general housework including cooking (if you wish).
Comments: Hospitable ex Southland couple who have been involved in FHINZ fo many years - recently relocated. Visitors have their own room either in house or seperate. Special diets okay - let us know in advance. Relaxing rural setting - heart of Marlborough Wine Country. Own transport would be an advantage if you want to explore this wonderful area.
Hobbies: Meeting new people, gardening, boating, tramping/walking, cycling, tennis & ski-ing.
Blenheim G&A C
Activities: Helping with day to day farm work. Firewood, mowing lawns, fences. General farm work.
Comments: Homebrook is a hill country farm, situated 15 minutes from Blenheim. Able to pick up from Blenheim. You will have your own sleep out self contained, with 1 studio TV and tea and coffee facilities. All meals provided in the main house. Graham and Anne are the only family living on the farm. We also have a cottage and host farm stays. Mountain bike park, wither hills walkway 10 minutes away. About 50 wineries to visit approximately 15 to 20 minutes from house. Bikes provided if wanting to cycle the wineries Horse trecking 5 minutes drive.
Hobbies: We have a batch at Lake Rotoiti Nelson lakes district which we like to attend for relaxation. Farm hobbies merino sheep (wool) trees.
Blenheim TS
Activities: Vineyard and farm.
Comments: Couple, large house, plenty of room. Near wine trail, Marlborough Sounds, and Blenheim, pickup no problem.
Hobbies: Outdoors, cycling, vege gardening, wine, golf.
Claremont RY
Activities: Gardening, mowing, trimming..sometimes general house work, walking the dog sometimes...
Comments: Full board, own room, clean linen on a Country Estate 10 minutes Timaru town centre.
Harakeke K E
Activities: Commercially growing hops and blackcurrants. Variety of tasks according to interests and skills. Blackcurrant harvest January, hop harvest March. Open to negotiate terms, paid work likely available.
Comments: Single male. Depending on timing and situation we have 3 options for accommodation, baching on your own, with myself or with the grandparents. Contact for more detail.
Hobbies: Mountain biking, brewing, traveling, bee keeping, gumboot throwing.
Havelock MW
Activities: Lifestyle property. Help with: building, fencing, gardening, planting, maintaining green house, painting, cleaning, maintenance, firewood, animal care, mechanics, track clearing, hunting & fishing.
Comments: Catholic family who love the outdoors, daily projects, good food & good times. We are looking for healthy strong positive people who love the outdoors. Variety of accommodation to suit, a great club house for cooking and recreation. Private bay for swimming and kayaking, Beautiful hills with trees and wildlife.
Hobbies: Music (lots of instruments), reading , arts (paint, sculpture, carving), global discussions & cooking.
Kaikoura P O
Activities: 8000 Romney/half-breed sheep, 800 beef cattle & Sport horse stable with a few horses. Large vegetable garden. Free range chickens & pigs. Bee hives on property. Help with general farm work or help around homestead ie gardening, painting etc. Often ha
Comments: Own bedroom within homestead, Wifi internet. Out going young couple. Kaikoura 40 min & My Lyford Ski Field 20 min.
Hobbies: Horse Riding competitions, snow skiing, boating & diving,fishing.
Kaikoura K&L C
Activities: Farm Park, 6x rental properties (Wacky Stays), & offsite Llama Trekking. Chickens, wallaby, dogs, sheep, ponies, geese, ducks, deer, goats, etc. Look after animals, welcome & show visitors around park, maintenance projects, general housework & cleaning i
Comments: Meals from own produce. No fussy eaters. Own double or twin bedrooms + common room with 51" TV, Blu-ray and satellite. Own shower room and kitchen. Suit individuals or a couple. i-Site 5 min drive.
Marlborough L D
Activities: Day Spa, Beauty & Health Retreat. Maintenance, veg gardens, mowing: ride on and hand mower, weed wacking, fencing, planting, mulching olives, grapes, veges, heirloom potatoes.
Comments: Nominated for an environmental award. Helpers have their own room. Own car is helpful to see the district; great wineries, river fishing and photography, Blenheim 14 min.
Hobbies: Developing land, music, BBQ, motor bike riding, fishing, meeting new great people.
Motueka M J
Activities: Cattle, sheep - white and coloured, alpacas, and hens. Nut groves and fruit trees with a nut cracking business. Plus, a home-based craft shop and school. Establishing a spinning mill. Help with the farm maintenance and multiple renovation schemes, gardens
Comments: Single owner. Spare bedroom, with shared bathroom, or a separate studio or sleepout. Motueka 7km, Kaiteriteri and Abel Tasman National Park 14km.
Hobbies: Finding solutions to many challenges, line dancing and community activities.
Motueka W&K D
Activities: Boarding Kennel & Cattery, hobby farm with cows (hand milk house cow, make own cheese), goats, sheep, chooks, ducks, doves, horses, dogs & big veggie garden. Helping hands needed for weeding, general maintenance, kennel hand.
Comments: Bedroom in the house with use of bathroom, we cook the meals you may do the dishes. Home grown meat & veggies, no vegetarians. Near Abel Tasman Park, Mount Arthur, Motueka River across the road! Keywords: work, fun, animals, swimming, great food!!
Picton B&B C
Activities: Small hobby farm, cattle, donkey poultry, wee dogs, cat & cockatoo. Work includes, animal care, orchard work, firewood & gardening. We also have a small camp ground, and in summer there are packs to pick up from wharf.
Comments: Situated in Endeavour Inlet in the picturesque Marlborough sounds. No road access but regular water taxi service. You have you own room, hand basin and toilet, Wifi available. Local bar and restaurant 20 min walk. Local activities, kayaking, fishing and tramping.
Picton P S
Activities: Holiday accommodation business, dealing with the public, cleaning units, maintenance on buildings, grounds, etc; busy period Oct - April. Also 40 perindale ewes; farm work includes dealing with the animals, scrub clearing, fence maintenance, etc
Comments: At northern end of Queen Charlotte walkway, in coastal forest. Access by boat only, $65 return, I can negotiate fares for staff, prepared to fund this for the right person working here. No state power, own micro hydro system which means no mod cons. Do not bring hair driers, electric razers etc. Self contained accommodation. Dinghies, kayaks, bush walks, peace & tranquillity. Swimming, snorkel, fish, dive etc. I live alone, son at boarding school home weekends; partner lives locally with 3 children.
Picton C&U S
Activities: Not a farm, small holiday resort. Bed making, cleaning units, gardening, food preparation, assisting guests.
Comments: Accommodation in small unit, eat with owners. Sea/Air access only, surrounded by bush and sea. Walks, fishing, rowing, canoeing, swimming. Helpers are welcome to use resort facilities if they are free ie dinghys, canoes, library (TV and video) and games room. If resort is not busy, helpers are able to join guests on fishing launch for the day.
Ruby Bay A F
Activities: Vegetable garden, fruit picking, cooking, building, making garden furniture out of natural wood.
Comments: Family of 4 living 5 min from the beautiful Kina Beach on the way to Abel Tasman. Property has ponds, ducks and apple orchard. Aim to be self sufficient, enjoy cooking and have fun.
Hobbies: Make cheese, bread and beach walks.
Wakefield A&W L
Activities: Lifestyle block with a river boundary. Sheep and cattle plus beekeeping business from home, approximately 300 hives right through the Nelson \ Tasman area. Honey processing factory on the property.
Comments: Married couple and 2 teenagers; family time: visiting local markets and shopping, or fishing and water skiing at Nelson lakes. Choose to stay in the house with us or if you wish stay in your own campervan etc and use the shower and toilet in the work shop.
Hobbies: Exploring by car or boat.
Purchase a FHiNZ booklet for access to the complete database including contact details for each farm.
Top of Page top of page
   41 South St
   Palmerston North 4410
   New Zealand
  2004 FHiNZ . designed and hosted by Kudos web design