FARMS BY REGION
Browse the condensed FHiNZ farm database by clicking the region names below.
For access to the complete database including contact details for each farm please purchase a FHiNZ booklet.
 Northland
 Auckland
 Coromandel
 Waikato
 Bay of Plenty
 East Coast
 National Park
 Taranaki
 Wanganui
 Hawkes Bay
 Wairarapa
 Manawatu
 Wellington
 Nelson/Marlborough
 Canterbury/Christchurch
 West Coast
 Otago/Southern South Is
 

Farm Helpers In New Zealand 

FARM HELPERS IN NEW ZEALAND    
New Zealand Sheep
SELECTED REGION: Hawkes Bay, North Island
Hastings, Napier, Waipukarau, Dannevirke, Woodville
 
Dannevirke R&S K
Activities: Developing sheep and beef farm. General farm work, stock work, painting, fencing, firewood and housework.
Comments: Pickup from Dannevirke (30km). Self contained, 2 bedroom, Lockwood home. Local attractions include, caving, glow worms, fishing, deer stalking, bushwalks, swimming, spa pool and golf.
Hobbies: Meeting people, family, shearing, farming, the gym, gardening, travelling, reading etc.
 
Dannevirke HQ
Activities: Split calving dairy farm, milk all year round: 270 cows in spring. Jobs to suit experience & aptitude from cleaning to milking & beyond.
Comments: Kids have left home. Currently one house available, own room, heat pump. Must be able to look after the house and work for periods without supervision. Nearest towns Dannevirke & Woodville. Near Ruahine Ranges.
Hobbies: Aged ex rugby player, try to keep fit.
 
Dannevirke E&T R
Activities: Sheep & beef farm in 2 separate blocks in Dannevirke & Weber. Help with stock work, gardening, fencing, feeding family pets, rearing calves and lambs in spring, docking, helping out at shearing time and firewood. Cook odd meal if you are interested.
Comments: Couple with young boy, another on the way. Relaxed couple with a busy lifestyle. Stay in your own room in big farm house, access to phone & internet. Nearest town is Dannevirke, or we could pick up in Palmerston North or Napier if prior arrangement. Near golf courses, bush walks and fishing & hunting.
Hobbies: Socialising, family and friends and beach in summer.
 
Hastings D&C L
Activities: Petting zoo, open to the public. Animals include pigs, sheep, goats, llamas, deer, donkeys, cockatoos, guinea pigs etc. Pony rides and horse treks (15 horses). Experienced horse riders only, or a pair with one being experienced. Help cleaning, feeding,
Comments: We have a large home. Visitors have own room, internet access and lots of good farm food. Beach, takeaways, superette, pub all 5 min walk. River and pool close. No public transport to Haumoana, bus at Clive 5 km. We supply bike for many cycle trails, wineries & cafes.
 
Hastings M H
Activities: Help with gardening, and in the house, walking the dogs down on the beach.
Comments: Newish home with an with a glimpse of the sea. Only 15 min from Havelock North Village and 1 min to nearest beaches. Hawkes Bay is the fruit bowl of New Zealand and producing some of the worlds finest wines. Work will also include travelling back to nearby farm for odd jobs!
 
Havelock North KM
Activities: Sheep & cattle. Housework, gardening, stock work, raising lambs, painting, fencing & general farm work. Work 8.30 am-1 pm, afternoons free. One day off each week. May take visitors to other farm - Taihape for a few days. Honda 50 available for local trave
Comments: I live alone, sometimes with my partner. My daughter and family plus my shepherd and partner live on the farm. Stay in own self-contained cabin with main meals in the house. Near swimming/trout river. Swimming pool & tennis court. Collect from Hastings/Napier by arrangement.
 
Havelock North C H
Activities: Hobby farm, 3 horses, 4 cows. Repair fences, feed hay, groom horses, gardening, windows & just about everything.
Comments: No children at home. Visitors have own room with ensuite. Nearest town Havelock North.
 
Napier J&K B
Activities: Small lifestyle block (not a farm). Help with gardening, caring for 2 small dogs, 2 alpacas, chopping wood, trimming hedges & trees, mowing lawns (ride on mower), thistle grubbing, line trimming and general garden work.
Comments: Mature couple with a busy lifestyle. Stay in your own room (twin or double room), own bathroom & toilet. Quiet country location, Napier 6km Internet access, no mobile reception except texting. Non smokers only. Great home cooking. Can collect from Napier. No public transport but we travel to Napier Monday to Friday.
Hobbies: Gardening, music, TV, travel & beach walks.
 
Napier K&J M
Activities: Melons, apples, pumpkins, courgettes, sweetcorn etc plus 100 bee hives pollination & honey. Horse show jumping, show hunter, eventing, working hunter & showing plus a bit of hunting in spare time. 6hr/day x 7days/week or longer days for days off. Task
Comments: 5 children primary aged -early 20s. Room is off the house has a double bed; all facilities shared with the family. Pick up from Hastings - 20 mins. Free time opportunities may include: attending horse competitions, sightseeing, family bach, beach jet boat, deer stalking or duck shooting.
Hobbies: Horses, rowing, rugby, netball, hockey and water polo.
 
Napier E&P M
Activities: Lifestyle block on bare land. Some landscaping, gardening work. Small number of sheep so help with stock also at times. Firewood, spraying (weeds) and construction of outbuildings required, depending on level of skill.
Comments: Three young kids, no help expected with them. Cater for all diets. Two bed self sufficient sleepout, own bathroom and kitchen, tv, Wifi. 15 min to central Napier. Can pick up from bus terminal. No smokers.
Hobbies: Hunting, biking (use of bike possible), tramping.
 
Pongaroa J&M Y
Activities: Sheep and dairy beef plus equine behaviour, breeding and rehabilitation. Assist with moving cut scrub off paddocks, removal thistle and ragwort, mowing lawns and vegetable gardening. Visitors can observe activities with horses in their spare time.
Comments: Remote location. Active middle-aged couple with family overseas. Own room or share with travelling companion. We enjoy hearty healthy meals, good wine and intelligent conversation. Local beach 20 min. No cell phone or T.V. coverage on farm but have an extensive film library. We are pleased to answer questions.
Hobbies: Art, painting, bush walks, wildlife photography, psychology, historical and documentary films.
 
Porangahau M&F S
Activities: Sheep, beef, deer, horses, donkeys, goats & pig. Gardening, farmwork, with horses, help in house and with little boy.
Comments: Couple with young son. Own room double beds ensuite toilet and sink share bath and shower. Longest place name borders property. Beautiful beaches within 10 min drive, 40 min from Waipukarau. Pick up from Waipukarau with notice. Peaceful farm set within lovely gardens. Casual and well travelled, live a relaxed lifestyle and we enjoy sharing our farm.
Hobbies: Horses, computers, garden, animals and meeting new people.
 
Porangahau T&J H
Activities: Farm forestry, calf rearing, deer and chooks. Pruning trees, firewood, painting, removing tree thinnings and shifting stock.
Comments: Adult children have left home. Stay in sleepout. Property in pine forest (warning for bad sinus or hayfever), 3 min to beach, 35 min from Waipukurau. Boats may be arranged. Eat seafood, home grown veges/meat and free range eggs.
Hobbies: Golf.
 
Waimarama GA & MR
Activities: Rebuilding lifestyle block after flood devastation of our organic orchard and 2 houses. We need help with gardens, painting, cooking, cleaning gear from the flood. Future plans: treehouses, earthship toilets, stabilising/naturalizing flood bank & building
Comments: We have a 3 year old foster son. Waimarama Beach 5 min. Near bushwalks, hikes, golf, bike tracks & mountain climbs. We have bikes, surfboard, bodyboards & a unicycle. Can pick up from Hastings. PLEASE SEND YOUR photo or reference -be honest about your strengths and expectations.
Hobbies: Building unusual structures, art, music, environmentally responsible living, design, travel, tramping & our animals.
 
Waipukurau A P
Activities: Lifestyle block beside small farm up the road, agri-business & home office. Tasks around skills & interest: farm landscaping, gardening, home help, firewood, painting fences, poo removal, horse/animal care, computing, artistic talents. Construction, build
Comments: Warm comfortable room with double & single bed; share family bathroom. Bicycles available. Near good river banks or cycling & trout fishing. Pick up from nearby Waipukurau. Nice pubs, gym & pool in town. Strictly no smokers. Vegetarians & carnivores all welcome. Summer BBQs and warm winter fires.
Hobbies: Gardening, walking, horse riding, country music, socializing, dancing, meals/ talking to friends/travellers. Great for good horse riders - no lessons available.
 
Woodville T M
Activities: Dairy farm. Help milking cows, taking care of calves, moving stock, driving tractors, spraying weeds, childcare and general housework.
Comments: Young couple in our 20's, with 2 preschool children. The house is an old villa with a great view of the windmills. Can pick up from bus or train from Woodville (10 min) or Palmerston North (25 min).
Hobbies: Snowboarding, skiing, wakeboarding, water sport and watching movies. We love taking our guests to New Zealands greatest attractions in the lower and upper North Island.
 
Purchase a FHiNZ booklet for access to the complete database including contact details for each farm.
 
Top of Page top of page
 
WELCOME
ABOUT FHiNZ
FARM LOCATIONS
FHiNZ RULES
INFORMATION
FAQs
BECOME A MEMBER
BECOME A HOST
LATEST NEWS
DISCUSSION FORUM
 
   FHiNZ HEADQUARTERS
 
   41 South St
   Palmerston North 4410
   New Zealand
   info@fhinz.co.nz
 
  2004 FHiNZ . designed and hosted by Kudos web design